NIEUWEZIJDS VOORBURGWAL | AMSTERDAM
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 225 was once the address for the former printing facility and editorial offices of De Telegraaf. The striking and spectacular press hall is still visible from the street. The monument, designed in 1930 by architect J.F. Staal and a model of functionalist construction, has now been redeveloped into a new landmark in the historic center of Amsterdam.
With the removal of the later added floor, the press hall, now an imposing retail space, was restored to its former glory. Furthermore, daylight was created in several places, a link was made with the Kalverstraat and a sophisticated, two-part routing was constructed. At the top of the monument, in the office of Guerrilla Games, is a panoramic floor with a breathtaking view of the city. The redevelopment turns the former newspaper and bank building into another distinct icon.